Skip to content

The Salvation Army’s 614 Corps’ ReCreate Café to present Walk In My Shoes 3rd Edition: An Evening of Stories from Chattanooga’s Homeless and Non-Homeless Citizens

The Salvation Army of Chattanooga’s 614 Corps’ ReCreate Café will present Walk In My Shoes: An Evening of Stories from Chattanooga’s Homeless and Non-homeless Citizens October 17-18 at 7:30 pm, October 19 at 1:30 pm.

The ReCreate Café continues to bring innovative artistic programming to the Chattanooga community that seeks to serve all peoples of the city regardless of their housing situation.  Walk in My Shoes is an original story-theatre performance developed by ReCreate Café’s Artistic Director, Tenika Dye.  The production highlights real stories from citizens of Chattanooga who are currently homeless, have been homeless or who have never been homeless.  Each performer tells someone else’s story rather than his or her own.  Therefore, all the performers are “walking in someone else’s shoes.” 

Walk in My Shoes I

Walk in My Shoes I

The director, Tenika Dye, said: “One of the goals of the production is that as audiences hear these stories that they will consider- If I were in that situation what would I do? If that is what life threw at me how would I handle it? I hope audiences come away with a greater sense of empathy for their fellow Chattanoogans and look for ways they can feel “with” others not just feel “sorry for” others.”

Due to content of the material, this performance is recommended for those 13 and older with teens being accompanied by an adult.  Parents attending with their children are encouraged to have discussions about the topics presented in the production.

The concept’s history: In August 2013 the first Walk In My Shoes was produced as a part of the Community Cultural Connections (CCC) grants funded by Arts Build of Chattanooga.  The second edition was staged during the Christmas season of 2013 and a documentary of the project was sponsored by Arts Build.  The short film was produced by SAVD Productions and can be seen by clicking here. 

The concept’s impact: Lee Sanders has come full circle with the “Walk In My Shoes” project.  Approximately a year ago, Lee shared the story of his wife passing away the day after Christmas a few years ago, which ultimately lead to him spiraling into homelessness.  Lee was featured in the documentary and is now very close to the performer who told his story.  Lee is now in permanent housing, working and will perform another person’s story in the third edition.  

Lee speaking at the film premiere

Lee speaking at the film premiere

Lee said this about the project: “So much has changed for me just working on the project.  I have come out of my shell, learned how to talk more openly about my life and open up to others.  Before I was always closed off and didn’t talk about my feelings much.  It has helped me to overcome my fear of people and talking in front of groups somewhat, I’m still terrified, but I just do it anyhow.  It’s given me a chance to give back to others that have helped me. It is giving me the chance to do what God wants in my life.  I also have changed the attitude of ‘It’s not all about how someone can help me, but how I can help others.’  I now have the courage to go after what I want in life.  I have also been given the chance to meet some really awesome people, and some of those people and I have become really great friends, friends that I would have never otherwise met!” 

Tickets- “Pay What You Can”- All are welcome regardless of what they can pay.  The suggested minimum donation is $10 per person and will benefit The Salvation Army ReCreate Café Arts Program.  The ReCreate Café will also host a Sock and Shoe Drive during the weekend to collect new or good condition socks and shoes for the homeless population served by The Salvation Army 614 Corps.  The ReCreate Café is located at 800 McCallie Ave across from UTC.

For more information, visit www.csarmy.org, www.facebook.com/recreatecafearts or contact Tenika Dye, ReCreate Café Artistic Director, at 423-305-6208 or by email to tenika_dye@uss.salvationarmy.org.

 

“You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view…until you climb into his skin and walk around in it.”- Harper Lee, To Kill A Mockingbird

wims

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

